How's the best way to tow this?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

bairdandrew77

Reaction score
First Name
Andrew
Truck Year
Truck Model
K20
Engine Size
Ok so I'm not an expert when it comes to towing vehicles, but do have the general knowledge to do it safely. This weekend I'm going to be picking up a 1960 corvair in idaho falls and taking it to utah, roughly 200 miles away. I'm going to use a 95 ford aerostar as the tow vehicle, which is why it's in the "other vehicles" section. The suburban is still not running and I can't find someone willing to lend me a better towing truck.

Here's where the concerns start... I have a tow dolly that I use to haul cars around, great for stock FWD cars. The corvair is rear engine, RWD automatic. My original plan was to back the car onto the dolly for better weight distribution and lock the steering so the front is going straight. But I got a text from the seller saying the steering doesn't lock with the key removed. So how I'm stuck trying to figure something else out. Here's my choices so far:

Load it on facing forward and put it in neutral. The worst thing here is the weight distribution will be thrown off pretty badly with the engine in back. I can try loading up the front trunk with a lot of weight to help out a little, but I'm sure I can still expect a bit of swaying.

Put the back on the dolly and find a way to lock the steering. There's no seats currently installed, or else I would get one of those things that goes between the steering wheel and driver seat to hold it in place.

If anyone has any suggestions I'd love to hear it! I still want to lock the steering but don't know how. I'm also going to keep looking for a better truck to borrow, but just plan on the van being used. Thanks!!

74propu

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
austin
Truck Year
1974 1980 1986
Truck Model