Hello from KY (1986 C10 Custom Deluxe)

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

blindbug

Reaction score
First Name
Nick
Truck Year
Truck Model
C10
Engine Size
350 v8
Hello there, I just picked up a 1986 Chevy C10 Custom Deluxe with a 350 v8 swap and some very mild bolt on mods. Just want to say hi and give some background about myself.

I have been dreaming about an old truck (or car) for going on 15 years or more. I have always had an affinity towards GM Square Bodies since my father owns a 1986 GMC Sierra 1500 in black, which he has owned since 1986 and was his daily driver until just a few years ago when he switched to a new daily driver but kept old blackie. For nigh on 10 years I've been asking about the truck and when he was going to 'pass it on' so-to-speak, but I know that it will be pried from his cold dead hands.

For the last 5 or so years I've been putting a little money to the side and searching for an old truck. I had my eyes set on a 1986 or 1987 C10 or Sierra, a 1978 Scottsdale or Big Ten, or a 1964 C10 anything. I've went and looked at (2) trucks in the last 5 years before the one I bought, one of which was sold out from under me, the other of which the 'owner' didn't have a title.

That brings me to last week, when my brother (who knows my affection to the square bodies) messaged me with a picture of a facebook ad he had saw. It was a 1986 C10 Short Bed (one of my favorites), and from what I could tell it was nearly RUST FREE... which is hard to come by in the great state of Kentucky. I asked him to set up a meet time and the next morning I headed out on a 3 hour drive to see this thing, and hopefully finally satisfy this itch that I've had for so long.