Cold Starting Issue

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

CRM

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Casey
Truck Year
Truck Model
K2500
Engine Size
350 CI
I've been pretty busy at work and didn't have time to post this question earlier. When I go to start the truck (IL6 250c.i. 1 Barrel Rochester carb) I depress the pedal a couple of times and start the engine. It idles very rough and if I don't hold the pedal down for a couple of minutes it basically dies. If I hold the pedal down then eventually it holds itself at a fast idle. Once the temp gauge starts going up I can kick the pedal and it goes down to a normal slow, smooth firing, idle. It's been cold here for a little over a month, and this issue started when the temps dropped. I have limited experience with working on carburetors. Is this a choke adjustment problem, or should I be looking somewhere else?

1987 GMC Jimmy

Automobile Hoarder
Reaction score
First Name
Jesse
Truck Year
Truck Model
V1500 Jimmy
Engine Size