Chevy 350 rebuild question

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

84k20

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Brandon
Truck Year
Truck Model
K20
Engine Size
Okay guys I'm a newbie to this site but I have a couple questions. My 1984 Chevy k20 just blew a head gasket (possibly both) so i decided what better time to rebuild the engine. The block was bored .030'' over less than a year ago when the previous owner had it so it shouldn't require any machine work. I purchased a summit racing .030" over rebuild kit that came with everything from the entire gasket set to new pistons and oil pump. However;

I know my trucks engine falls into GM's emissions horror era when the horse power and torque numbers were extremely low, from reading in the foums on this site I have come to understand that this is mostly due to the fact of the poor performance of the stock 76cc chambers in the head and the crappy cam.

Sorry for the long introduction but here is my question..... what camshaft should I install that will allow me to use my stock heads and will give me enough of a performance boost to make it worth the effort?

I do not drive the truck everyday but at the very least 3 days a week i like to drive it, its used mostly to tow or haul anything thats too big for my other truck (96 Tacoma 2.7) and the Chevy will also be used for plowing as soon as I get that installed. The extra torque would be very useful to me for plowing and towing so what are some of your suggestions? Thanks in advance guys and sorry if I posted this in the wrong section.

Boone83K10

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Benjamin
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10
Engine Size