Best K10 Axle Swap?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

chancehare1

Reaction score
First Name
Chance
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10
Engine Size
350... want to duramax swap
Hey guys, this is my first time actually posting on a forum so let’s hope this goes well. I have my dads old 74 K10, and I’m wanting to do a duramax diesel swap. Before I do that, I know I’ll have to make chassis and suspension modifications. I’ve been researching and I’m trying to find the best axles to swap into the truck. I don’t mind going to 8 lug (I already have a 05 duramax, it would be nice to swap wheels) and I don’t plan on running anything bigger than a 35” tire. Really just looking to hear what axles you guys have used and what all you had to do for the swap. Thanks!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

RoryH19

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Rory
Truck Year
Truck Model
R10 Silverado SWB
Engine Size
350 TBI
First I'll say you are in for a lot of work.
Most people go LS, especially on a 1/2 ton chassis.

For the axles the easy answer is dana 60 up front, 14 bolt full float in the rear. These would be more than strong enough.

chancehare1

Reaction score
First Name
Chance
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10
Engine Size
350... want to duramax swap
First I'll say you are in for a lot of work.
Most people go LS, especially on a 1/2 ton chassis.

For the axles the easy answer is dana 60 up front, 14 bolt full float in the rear. These would be more than strong enough.