BBC heads casting number

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

76sierracamper

Reaction score
First Name
Ian
Truck Year
Truck Model
Gmc sierra
Engine Size
Hey I am looking at a set of heads and wondering if you guys can give me any feedback on them. The casting number is 8818840 and it also says gm3t hi perf on them and E1608. I've got a 454 I'm building and I'm still learning so any info would be great! Thanks

Ps the asking price is 1400 cad

nvrenuf

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
John
Truck Year
Truck Model
K5
Engine Size
I can’t find any info on the casting number but almost every GM head says “hi perf pass” so that doesn’t mean anything special. Since I can’t find any info I’d bet they are later model peanut port heads which only flow to about 4K rpm.

1400 seems like a lot unless they are freshly rebuilt with receipts.

1973c10

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Don
Truck Year
Truck Model
C10
Engine Size
Are you sure it is 8818840 do you have any pics of them

76sierracamper

Reaction score
First Name
Ian
Truck Year
Truck Model
Gmc sierra
Engine Size
I dont have any pics of them. The guy said they are rectangle port heads which makes me think they are 3919840 heads and I can see how they could mistake reading the 3 and 9's for 8's but I'm not sure I gotta go look at them in person. If they are 840 heads are they still worth that money. They have been ported and polished as well

1973c10

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Don
Truck Year
Truck Model
C10
Engine Size
I dont have any pics of them. The guy said they are rectangle port heads which makes me think they are 3919840 heads and I can see how they could mistake reading the 3 and 9's for 8's but I'm not sure I gotta go look at them in person. If they are 840 heads are they still worth that money. They have been ported and polished as well