1979 K20 Headlight Open Circuit

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

rileysbc400

Reaction score
First Name
Riley
Truck Year
Truck Model
K20
Engine Size
400 (6.6)
I have been building a 79 K20. The truck was purchased as a incomplete project, so there’s a lot of things up In the air about it. I’m new to wiring and electrical, but know most of the basics. I installed this fuse panel with the rest of the harness. Everything works as should, except the headlights. I’m not sure if I’m missing a place for a fuse or what, but no headlights what so ever, and no blinkers. There’s a spot on top of the fuse block that I wasn’t sure was for, it’s a white plastic clip. Was wondering what the white plastic clip was, and what might be keeping my headlights an open circuit?
You must be registered for see images attach

AuroraGirl

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Taylor
Truck Year
1978, 1980
Truck Model
K10, K25
Engine Size
400(?), 350
note, not all my fuses/cans are inserted. But this is an 1980 GMC k25 fuse panel, it should be the same one. Those orange wire taps are important generally speaking , not sure if to the headlights, but you probably need a few things yet plugged in.

The lower left corner, N, it says "LPS" and the diagram isnt really helpful but LPS means to me, lamps, and that feeds something. no idea what tho.

Last edited:

Matt69olds

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Matt
Truck Year
Truck Model
GMC 1/2 ton
Engine Size
455 Olds
Lamps is the fuse for the dash backlighting.

The white plastic plug on top of the fuse box is for the seatbelt warning buzzer. It might also be for headlight warning and key buzzer.