Weird 700R4 issues

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

NB-K5

Reaction score
First Name
Dylan
Truck Year
Truck Model
K5 Blazer
Engine Size
350 TBI
Hey all. New to the forum. Just picked up an 89 k5. Having some weird tranny problems.
Story on the truck. Sat for about 8 years with a blown head gasket. Replaced the gaskets this past weekend. Motor runs a1.

My tranny seems to work fine. Shifts from 1-2 fine. Once u hit about 40-50 kph it will downshift to first. Hit about 60kph and it shifts back into 2nd. Have tried adjusting tv cable. Pulling the cable lots to get the tv moving. Had the pan off and changed the fluid last night.
Trans doesnt seem to slip at all. Torque converter seems to engage and disengage properly.
Really has me stumped. Fairly new with automatics. Im a heavy truck tech by trade.
Hoping someone might have an idea as to whats happening.
Thanks

Jims86

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Jim
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10 Suburban Silverado
Engine Size
5.7 TBI
Hey all. New to the forum. Just picked up an 89 k5. Having some weird tranny problems.
Story on the truck. Sat for about 8 years with a blown head gasket. Replaced the gaskets this past weekend. Motor runs a1.

My tranny seems to work fine. Shifts from 1-2 fine. Once u hit about 40-50 kph it will downshift to first. Hit about 60kph and it shifts back into 2nd. Have tried adjusting tv cable. Pulling the cable lots to get the tv moving. Had the pan off and changed the fluid last night.
Trans doesnt seem to slip at all. Torque converter seems to engage and disengage properly.
Really has me stumped. Fairly new with automatics. Im a heavy truck tech by trade.
Hoping someone might have an idea as to whats happening.
Thanks