TBI issue

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

cods

Reaction score
First Name
Cody
Truck Year
Truck Model
R10
Engine Size
Hi y'all. very new to this forums, but I've run out of options. have an '87 r10 w/ 350 tbi. bought the truck and it ran long enough to get it home. now it won't stay running. I have gone through multiple different parts to get it running includin: new egr, distrib., ignition coil, ignition module, fuel pump, fuel pump relays, and probably more that I'm forgetting. I have fuel coming to throttle body when cranking, I have spark. just no fuel spraying into throttle body. will start and run off of gas or ether. please help with some possible diagnoses, I'm still learning about TBI. thanks a ton.

Georgeb

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
George
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10 Burb Z71
Engine Size
Check for injector pulses. Any trouble codes? Check the fuel pressure when cranking. Blown fuses?

cods

Reaction score
First Name
Cody
Truck Year
Truck Model
R10
Engine Size
Check for injector pulses. Any trouble codes? Check the fuel pressure when cranking. Blown fuses?

no codes or blown fuses. don't think the injectors are pulsing though. I'm not sure why they're not. also, how would I check fuel pressure?

cooter55

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Placitas, New Mexico...not really New...not really
First Name
Jack
Truck Year
1973, 1987
Truck Model
C20, R10
Engine Size
454FI, 350
If the injectors are good, you should hear them cycling - a fast ticking sound. Dirt and crud in the fuel line will mess up injectors real fast.
Check your wire from the coil to the ECM(similar to tach signal) If the ECM is not getting a signal that you have ignition voltage, the pump will run for a couple of seconds and then the ECM will shut it off.