Suburban 3rd row seat/Blazer back seat floor mounts

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

NCBurb

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Rick
Truck Year
Truck Model
Suburban
Engine Size
6.2L
Howdy. I am just beginning the process of adding a 3rd row seat to my 87 Suburban, which never had one. I picked up a floor section with mounts from a parts rig, and have been thinking the best/safest way to add the mounting "buckets" from the floor to mine.
At first I thought they were spot welded up underneath the floor. As I was cleaning them up though, there's seam sealer squished out all around the joint, and it looks like maybe some rivets or swages to crimp them together? Anybody ever removed those "buckets" clean? If I could do that, then I can just cut out the rectangular holes in my floor, which has the stamped bosses in place, and weld the buckets up from the bottom...
Basically I'm wondering if anyone knows how they were attached at the factory, and/or if you have ever taken some apart.
Also I want to confirm that they are the same "buckets" as the Blazer's 2 back seat mounts. One of mine is pretty rusty, so I'd rather expand my options to find 1 more clean one. No sense welding in rusty metal. thanks,

bucket

Super Moderator
Staff member
Super Moderator
Reaction score
First Name
Andy
Truck Year
'77, '78, '79, '84, '88
Truck Model
K5 thru K30
Engine Size
350-454
Iirc, they are spot welded to the underside of the floor pan.