Soft Brakes. Big Estimate. New Brake fluid and now fixed?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Spool

Reaction score
First Name
Thomas
Truck Year
Truck Model
C20
Engine Size
Hello.

My name is Thomas. I'm new here with a 73 C20 Chevy living in Los Angeles.

I've been working on the truck for about 2 years now but still have much to learn.

About 5 weeks ago, the brakes went soft.
I took it in to what I thought was a trusted mechanic.
He tells me this, that, brake booster, bad lines, etc.
$150 just to look at it plus $1000 to replace everything.

I have him bleed the brakes and replace the fluid to see what happens and now they are fine.
They have actually been fine since then. (5 weeks)

But i'm curious. What led to the problem? Why did they go soft and what should I be looking for as the culprit?
I replaced the brake pads about a year ago and just before I'm coming to a complete stop they will squeal a bit.
The brake lines look fine. Should I be looking at my brake booster or master cylinder and if so, what should I look for?

So something needs to be replaced but I'd like to ask here rather than go to the mercy of some mechanic as I am not familiar with brake systems.

Thanks in advance!
-Thomas.

Georgeb

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
George
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10 Burb Z71
Engine Size
For now I would keep an eye on the fluid level and look for wet spots under the truck and by the calipers and wheel cylinders. Perhaps you have small leak. Otherwise a flakey master cylinder could be the cause.

Spool

Reaction score
First Name
Thomas
Truck Year
Truck Model
C20
Engine Size
Thank you.

I just read/watched some stuff on line as well.

I was thinking tomorrow I'll have the brake pedal pressed to see if I can spot a leak anywhere along the lines or wheels.