Rough Idle and Stalling

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

grwindmill97

Reaction score
First Name
Ryan
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10
Engine Size
Apologies in advance, this may be rather long.

I have a 1984 K10 that has a rough idle and stalls. I’m not an expert at this by any means, but I bought the truck 3 years ago and have done all maintenance and repairs, except for rebuilding the transmission, which I felt was well beyond my capabilities. I’ve been working on this problem for at least a month and I’m ready to throw in the flag, so this is my last resort before I take it to a real mechanic. Which I hate to do, because I feel like I’m just one step away from fixing it, I just can’t quite get there.

- 350 motor: supposedly rebuilt about 5 years ago by the previous owner.

- Rochester Quadrajet: rebuilt by me using a kit from Cliff about 100 miles ago. It’s a M4ME, with the double pumper disconnected by the PO.

- 700r4: rebuilt about 3,000 miles ago, installed by me with a new torque converter.

-Also, the PO deleted anything relating to emissions, aside from the PCV which I have replaced.

To explain everything I have to start in November of last year. I took it on a trip of 600 miles all together. Prior to the trip I replaced the distributor, but I can’t remember the symptoms that prompted me to do so, but as I recall, it fixed the issue. On the way to my destination, the truck ran well, but I noticed it did run slightly hot at highway speeds. On my return trip, I had trouble maintaining speeds above 70 mph. The problem with the acceleration started getting worse, it felt exactly like the carb was struggling for fuel during hard acceleration and under a load, ie. up a hill or highway speeds. Eventually it got to the point where I had to drive it home going 5 mph up a hill near where I live.