pittsburg torque wrench

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

AaronW

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Aaron
Truck Year
Truck Model
V3500
Engine Size
I'm trying to torque my new cab mounts to the specified 55 foot pounds. I picked up a cheapie Horror Fright 1/2 drive torque wrench a while back, figuring that it would be fine for occasional use. (Maybe I was wrong...).

I've gotten it to click on exactly one bolt, so far, and I can't get it to click on any more. Any advice for getting the wrench to reset? I've no previous experience using these, so I'm trying to figure out if it's a tool problem or user error. I've been resetting the wrench to zero, and finger tightening the bolts, before using the wrench. I've also beeing using a pretty long extension. I can't see how that might affect performance, but you don't know what you don't know....

Ideas?

Aaron

AyWoSch Motors

The Parts Guy
Reaction score
First Name
Ayden
Truck Year
Truck Model
K1500 Sierra
Engine Size
350ci V8
I'm trying to torque my new cab mounts to the specified 55 foot pounds. I picked up a cheapie Horror Fright 1/2 drive torque wrench a while back, figuring that it would be fine for occasional use. (Maybe I was wrong...).

I've gotten it to click on exactly one bolt, so far, and I can't get it to click on any more. Any advice for getting the wrench to reset? I've no previous experience using these, so I'm trying to figure out if it's a tool problem or user error. I've been resetting the wrench to zero, and finger tightening the bolts, before using the wrench. I've also beeing using a pretty long extension. I can't see how that might affect performance, but you don't know what you don't know....

Ideas?

Aaron
I have the Pittsburg 1/2 inch. It's worked fine for me, with all my rebuilding. It's not a bad tool, but maybe you got a defective one.