over heats when turned off. trans fluid climbing tube?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

bigbuc83

Reaction score
First Name
Caleb
Truck Year
Truck Model
Engine Size
I'm new to the older chevys. I've got an 86 k10 with 350 and 350 turbo trans. I've already replaced u joints and diff fluid and brakes and resealed intake.
A couple things it does that's weird to me is that when the truck is turned off coolant comes out overflow and temp is at 230. Driving its at 180. Over never seen this problem before.
Another thing it has going on with it is that the transmission dipstick tube starts filling with trans fluid. Almost like the pan is pressurizing and its coming up the tube. No its not over full. Initially it is in the hatch marks. And as it runs it goes halfway up the stick.
Thanks in advance for help

foamypirate

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Jake (Mr. Wilson)
Truck Year
Truck Model
El Camino, baby!
Engine Size
5.3L/4L60E
I'm new to the older chevys. I've got an 86 k10 with 350 and 350 turbo trans. I've already replaced u joints and diff fluid and brakes and resealed intake.
A couple things it does that's weird to me is that when the truck is turned off coolant comes out overflow and temp is at 230. Driving its at 180. Over never seen this problem before.
Another thing it has going on with it is that the transmission dipstick tube starts filling with trans fluid. Almost like the pan is pressurizing and its coming up the tube. No its not over full. Initially it is in the hatch marks. And as it runs it goes halfway up the stick.
Thanks in advance for help

Trans fluid should be at the hashmarks when warmed up and running, not when parked and cold. Not sure about the overheating after shutting the truck off though.

bigbuc83

Reaction score
First Name
Caleb
Truck Year
Truck Model
Engine Size