No start, no crank, no noise

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Erik Anderson

Reaction score
First Name
Erik
Truck Year
Truck Model
GMC K25
Engine Size
Hi this is my first time posting as it is the first time I have not found any help in other threads. I have a 1975 GMC K25, 350, sm465, np205. I am working on restoring the truck from the frame up. I got it back together and running with no problem. I recently removed the dash in order to replace the speedo cable after that it will not start. I have power in the cab as I can hear the heater motor but the starter won't crank over, click, or make any noise at all. I have tried jumping the starter with a section of wire and the engine will turn over so I believe that rules out a bad starter. I've done some some research and my next thought was that the rod from the key cylinder to the ignition switch was broken or the ignition switch itself was bad. I dropped my column down and confirmed the rod does move with the turn of the key. So I assumed the ignition switch was bad, I purchased a new ignition switch and replaced it but I still have the same issue. Power in the cab but the key will not turn the starter over. The last thing I did was confirm that the purple wire at the starter does NOT have power when I have a helper try and start the truck with the key. I am not too good at any wiring on vehicles and completely stuck at this point so any help would be much appreciated. Thank you.

Snoots

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Roger
Truck Year
Truck Model
Jimmy Sierra
Engine Size
It could be the Neutral Safety Switch. I am assuming a column shift so, with the key in the 'RUN' position move the shift lever several times from one end to the other. You may have to pull up on the lever once you have it in 'PARK' whhile you turn the key to 'START'.

Curt

Full Access Member