How to time my engine, with a cam degreed at 1.25 degrees advanced??

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

OldBlueDually

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Justin
Truck Year
1976 GMC
Truck Model
C30
Engine Size
455 Olds
Gent's, after searching this site, then searching the innerweb I am still not coming up with an answer of what to do here. This truck & engine build has been a lot of "new things" I have never done before.

So, I want to know: How do I properly time my engine, with my cam degreed at 1.25 degrees advanced? (When I degreed the cam, the closest I could get is 1.25 advanced).

I have the stock harmonic balancer on the engine, and the stock stamped metal plate with the "0" on it and tic marks to either side of it. Do I try to put it at 0, or....???

The closer to 0 I got with the timing light, the worse the engine ran, so timed it by ear for now.

Thanks for the advice & input guys!

Here is the camshaft information;

You must be registered for see images attach

Craig Nedrow

NADAR UNDER THE RADAR
Supporting Member
Reaction score
First Name
Craig
Truck Year
1973 (have two), 1985
Truck Model
K10, K20, C20
Engine Size
350, 454, 6.2 Detroit