Help Needed w/ Wheel Sizing

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Bucs34

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Delete Account
Truck Year
None
Truck Model
None
Engine Size
None
Hello everyone,

I'm a self admitted wheel noob. I could never wrap my head around figuring out backspacing and offset. Anyways, I am planning a 2" lift with 33x12.5 tires for my 87 Silverado 1/2 ton. I am looking to get some 15x8 wheels as they seem to be better suited to handle the 12.5" wide tire than the 15x7 wheels I currently have. My question is, what offset and backspacing is recommended for a 15x8 wheel on these trucks with a 33x12.5 tire. Also, if anyone wants to post up a picture of the wheels they're running that would be great as well since I am unsure what style wheel to get. Thanks for any and all input!!!

hirschdalechevy

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
rich
Truck Year
Truck Model
k-30
Engine Size
I dont have any pic's of 8 wide wheels , (I like 10's or wider) but you will be fine with 3.75 or 4" back space. The more backspace you have the less offset you will have.

Backspace = towards the inside of your truck
Offset = towards the outside of your truck

Bucs34

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Delete Account
Truck Year
None
Truck Model
None
Engine Size
None
Thanks for chiming in! Just to add another question to the mix should I go for steel or aluminum / alloy?

77 K20

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Mike
Truck Year
Truck Model
K20 5" lift
Engine Size
HT383 fuel injected
Thanks for chiming in! Just to add another question to the mix should I go for steel or aluminum / alloy?

For me it depends on what you will be doing with it. For my truck I use for towing I bought some Dick Cepek aluminum wheels. They were lighter than steel, but had a strong weight rating to them.