Hello and help!

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

zac1981c20

Reaction score
First Name
zac
Truck Year
Truck Model
c20
Engine Size
Hello everyone I’m zac and I’m 21 I’ve been a mechanic for about three and a half years and I’m new to the square body family. I just bought a 1981 Chevy c20 with a 350 I couldn’t get much history from the guy I bought it from except that the motor is 3 years old body has about 180xxx. Anyhooter what I’ve done to the truck so far is plug’s , wires, cap and rotor, oil pressure sending unit, and Speedo cable. Here comes my current issue at the end of the work day today I did the cap and rotor after doing the cap and rotor the truck idles better than it has for the most part but when I tried to pull out of the shop the moment theres any load more than the verry min to get moving it after fires like crazy and just wants to stall and actually will stall with enough throttle it stalled twice on me on my way home. Once I got into the driveway I hopped out and tried to see if the distributor just needed a little adjustment but it died the moment I got near it at all and wouldn’t restart. I’ve got ideas but I’m not sure if I’m even close I apologize for the lengthy post but I could sure use some assistance

82sbshortbed

Fuckemall!!
Reaction score
First Name
Doug
Truck Year
1982, 1984
Truck Model
1500 shortbed, 1500 longbed
Engine Size
454, 305
I'd check the wires and make sure they're in the right order. I had similar issue and I had 3 and 5 swapped. Fixed when I put them right.

zac1981c20

Reaction score
First Name
zac
Truck Year
Truck Model
c20
Engine Size
Update I went out and checked wires and everything is where it should be still wouldn’t start

zac1981c20

Reaction score
First Name
zac
Truck Year
Truck Model
c20
Engine Size
I have not yet I’ve been meaning to I’m gonna have to rent a timing gun