Fuel Gauge

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

sonicbluezx3

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Steven
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10
Engine Size
This may have been visited before at one point, but I am not very good at using the search function to find specific results.

As some of you may remember, I had a similar problem with my temperature gauge. That has since been fixed and is working fine as I changed over to a mechanical gauge. I will be doing the same with my oil pressure gauge in the next few weeks.

I have done a full frame off restoration on my 86 K10 diesel. I replaced the sending unit, fuel tank, and lines. I found when I went to fill up my truck the other day (because the gauge read 1/4 tank full) that I could only put 17 dollars worth of fuel in and then it overflowed. I came home and didn't do anything with it for a couple weeks, but last night I went in and checked the fuel vent and all the lines - everything checks out ok. So next I dropped the tank to see if the sending unit was hooked up wrong, and of course everything looked okay and I found out the tank was FULL which is why it was coming back out at me.

Basically I want to know how does a fuel gauge work (specific to this truck).... and how do I go about fixing it? The sending unit has a brown wire that connects to the middle of the sending unit and there is also a ground.

Thanks!

philjafo

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
phil
Truck Year
Truck Model
k20 scottsdale
Engine Size
350/sm465/np205/d44/corp14