Fuel gauge reading past full

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

JamesSam

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Sam
Truck Year
Truck Model
Silverado V10
Engine Size
5.7 L 350 v8
...oh and the guage reading on the passenger tank I had to switch back to when the drivers side tank died, was totally past the full mark. I was really baffled.

bwolff0820

Reaction score
First Name
Bryan
Truck Year
Truck Model
c10
Engine Size
305 V8
@JamesSam good luck on figuring it out. If you have any help it would be appreciated. Unfortunately I live in Texas and this heat is limiting me on how much I can actually work on this. Goal is to get the truck running on its own and then will tackle the massive oil leak is has. I’ve rebuilt the qjet and wasn’t too bad. Again I’ve never done anything like this before so I’m learning from here and YouTube. Just wish I could figure this one out. It’s gotta be something simple I’m missing

Jgonick

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Joel
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10
Engine Size
I'm going to have to let someone who knows more about the dual tanks jump in. Like I stated earlier I'm not real familiar with the selector valve. Did you ever try grounding the sender/gauge wire to see if it moves slowly to E. ? -I would do both tanks. If it doesn't then you know its not getting current.

bwolff0820

Reaction score
First Name
Bryan
Truck Year
Truck Model
c10
Engine Size
305 V8
I have not tried that. I have some 14g wire I can strip and use which should work to test that. I’ll give that a try and see what happens

Rumbledawg

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Dan
Truck Year
Truck Model
K30 crewcab
Engine Size
when my gauge went to 3 o'clock about 10 yrs ago, i had no ohm meter so i basically did everything you've done with zero results. new switching valve, new grounds, etc, etc, etc.