Front Brakes Locking Up Under Load

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

paul8369

Reaction score
First Name
Paul
Truck Year
Truck Model
c2500
Engine Size
Hello, I have a braking problem with my ’85 C2500. I recently pulled a trailer loaded with about 2 cubic yards of dirt. The truck did not have any issues pulling the trailer and for most of the trip home it braked just fine. Just prior to arriving I put the brakes on at 25 mph and the front brakes instantly locked up. It felt like the truck had no rear brakes at all. The brake light did not come on during this hair-raising event.

Unloaded, the brakes are just fine. Hauling a few hundred pounds in the bed is good too.

I have a new master cylinder, calipers, pads, front hubs, rear shoes, rear hardware and new hoses. I believe my problem is the load sensing proportioning valve (LSPV) on the rear brakes because this event seems related to the amount of rear spring deflection (heavily loaded, no brakes – lightly loaded good brakes). There is a difference in spring deflection of a couple of inches between pulling the trailer and unloaded.

From what I can gather, the LSPV should apply more braking force to the rear brakes as the load increases but it felt like just the opposite.

Comparing my LSPV configuration to the couple I have found on the internet, it appears to be correctly installed and timed (see attached pictures).

I have also looked at GM TSB 88-T-151. This appears to recommend removing the valve for lifted or modified trucks and does not require changing the main proportioning valve or installing a different lspv.