Brakes randomly sticking.

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Pbtrilogy

Reaction score
First Name
Josh
Truck Year
1984/ 1984
Truck Model
84 K10 Scottsdale/84 C30 Silverado
Engine Size
350/ 454
Hello,

On my way home from work this past saturday, I started smelling burning brake smell and found that it was coming from the front passenger side brake. I drove it a bit on Sunday and had no issues. Today, on my way to work I started feeling the same grabbing feeling and smelled the same burning smell and saw smoke. But this time it was on the driver side and the passenger side was fine. Now I am afraid to drive it home and am not sure what it could be since it's not consistent.
Any ideas of what could be wrong or what I need to do? I am pretty new to these trucks and have had this one since October with no issues.
Thanks

1987 GMC Jimmy

Automobile Hoarder
Reaction score
First Name
Jesse
Truck Year
Truck Model
V1500 Jimmy
Engine Size
Do you feel it pulling to the left or right when you brake? I would pull the wheels and inspect the calipers because it sounds like they're sticking at varying times. They also may not be returning sometimes when you release the brake. Sometimes you can clean up debris or rust and get them working again, but it may be time for new front calipers. Not terribly expensive. If the wheels don't turn jacked up, or they do with high resistance, that's a pretty good sign. While you're there, make sure your pads and rotors are alright. Also if your caliper bolts are in bad shape, get new ones.

Last edited:

Pbtrilogy

Reaction score
First Name
Josh
Truck Year
1984/ 1984
Truck Model
Engine Size
350/ 454