Brake System and Combination/Proportioning Valve Diagnosis

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

87V30

Reaction score
First Name
Kevin
Truck Year
Truck Model
V30
Engine Size
Hello,

I have been rebuilding my 87 V30 for several years and recently got it moving under its own power. I am posting as have run into a brake system issue I discovered because of the combination valve/ proportioning valve warning light coming on and immediately coming off at different stages of pedal engagement.

My truck has a remanufactured hydroboost brake booster, remanufactured master cylinder, new stainless steel hard lines, new rubber hoses, fresh calipers, rebuilt drums and new pads/shoes.

I have been moving the truck in an out of the garage and in the driveway for several weeks without issue and a nice pedal feel. This past week I installed the instrument cluster/dashboard and had the warning light illuminate and go off at different points in the pedal throw.

I verified the park brake and metering valve warning switch circuits are correct and not shorted to ground. Further, I was able to have a friend depress the brake pedal while I looked into the metering valve switch port and saw the valve slide to the driver side which tells me there is an issue somewhere with the front braking system.