Bolt size confusion and stuck master cylinder

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

R8rPhan

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Mark
Truck Year
1973 (1979?)
Truck Model
C10 long bed (Frankenstein truck)
Engine Size
So, I've been driving around with a leaky master cylinder for 2 years since I bought and resurrected this old square body...

I grabbed a power brake booster and master cylinder off a junked 88 suburban/tahoe about the same time I got this truck and it's been sitting in a bucket all this time out on the front porch...

Today, since I've been snowed in for a couple weeks and can't go anywhere anyway and finally got a relatively dry day, I decided to do the conversion to power brakes.. The bolt pattern on the cab was for power brakes but someone had jury rigged in a master cylinder from something else..

Other than having to drill out the brake pedal pin hole on the end of the master cylinder push rod, the thing bolted right in...

So two issues..

First of all, I didn't have all the nuts for mounting the thing.. The two nuts that were on the existing master cylinder required a 15mm socket, and they were threaded on two bolts that were stuck from the inside, through the pedal bracket, the firewall and the master cylinder flange, with a nut on them on the engine side..

So, I put a 3/8" bolt and nut to replace one of those, used the other one where I found it, and took the remaining nut and threaded it on one of the four remaining posts..

So I need more nuts... But what size are they.. According to every bolt chart I find on line, there is no bolt that requires a 15mm socket.. But require it they do..