Air Storage Tank Alternatives

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

bucket

Super Moderator
Staff member
Super Moderator
Reaction score
First Name
Andy
Truck Year
'77, '78, '79, '84, '88
Truck Model
K5 thru K30
Engine Size
350-454
So I've been at this property for over two years now and I'm still discovering things that were left behind by the last owners. One of the latest discoveries is an old refrigerant tank that had been converted to an air tank. I tried it out today... it works awesome! It's way more convenient than the Craftsman tank I've been using for 20+ years.

You must be registered for see images attach

Not only does the r22 tank offer more capacity, but it is probably half the weight of the actual air storage tank that I have. It also doesn't have the stupid little cheap shutoff valve like so many air tanks do, just the normal tank valve. I believe the r22 tank was converted with a universal kit of some kind. It uses this nifty little manifold that includes an air hose, fill port and stick style pressure gauge all in one piece. Besides being threaded for the tank valve, it also has male NPT threads to be used in other air type tanks.

So now I have two questions. What is a safe pressure level for the typical refrigerant tank? I don't believe I've ever put a gauge directly on a refrigerant tank to know what kind of pressure they are shiped with when new. Also, what else have y'all turned into an air storage tank?

AuroraGirl

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Taylor
Truck Year
1978, 1980
Truck Model
K10, K25
Engine Size
400(?), 350