4.1L 250 cid L6 w/ integrated head -- Need Help w/ Rebuild or Upgrade

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Biscuit Blanco

Reaction score
First Name
Biscuit
Truck Year
Truck Model
C10
Engine Size
4.1L 250 cid L6
BLUF (Bottom Line Up Front): I need help to improve performance of my 4.1L 250 cid inline 6. Specifically, where to find parts/alternate parts and any suggestions for improved performance.

BACKGROUND: I inherited my grandfather's 1975 C10 Longbed with a 4.1L 250 cid L6 motor. He bought it off the showroom floor in '75 and I inherited it in '08. After many years of running poorly, I finally managed to find someone who could help me get her going again. Which we did. She runs smoothly, but she still has no balls and she smokes a ton at operating temp. Now, I am not a mechanic in any form or fashion. My new brother-in-law, however, is. He has committed to helping me completely tear down and rebuild the engine and saginaw 3-speed transmission when he travels to see me in late summer. After some research, I have discovered that 1975 was the first year Chevrolet began using an integrated cylinder head/intake manifold on their L6 engines. These manifolds are notorious for cracking even without overheating. Additionally, my carburetor is only a 1bbl. Overall, I want to increase the performance of the current engine and keep the 3-speed column-shift transmission for nostalgic reasons.

DISCUSSION: 1) In addition to rebuilding the engine, do I bother with the integrated head and find/fashion a bracket to move from a 1bbl to a 2bbl carburetor?