1989 Chevy Suburban 350 - stalls when in forward or reverse while breaks are engaged

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Mike89Suburban

Reaction score
First Name
Mike
Truck Year
Truck Model
Engine Size
This is a little long winded -sorry. I am also not a professional mechanic. I recently purchased a 1989 Chevy Suburban 350 with 33,000 original miles. It was last registered six years ago. When I bought it, it was on jack stands and had an inch of dust on it. Full tank of old gas too. The previous owner said before he put it up on jack stands he did a full and complete tune up. After going through the basics, inflating the tires and charging the battery, it started right up and a/c blows cold air. I drove it 150 miles to my home. On the way home it stalled a few times when stopping at lights or to pay tolls, but started right back up every time. I’ve been driving it around town. Put about 300+ miles on it - ran through the old gas. When in drive or reverse with my foot on the brake, the truck would stall, but would idle smooth in park or neutral. At lights if I put it in neutral it would be fine. The truck ran awesome (expect for the stalling issue). Transmission shifts perfectly. There are no pending codes and the check engine light is not on.

I tried cleaning the TBI with injector cleaner, while the TBI was attached to the intake manifold - no real help. I changed the fuel filter - the fuel filter was not blocked ,but nasty stuff dripped out of it. Changing the fuel filter had no real effect.