mounting issues 400 sbc to 350 sbc

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

tanyourhide

Reaction score
First Name
jesse
Truck Year
Truck Model
C10 pickup custom
Engine Size
250 inline 6
I got a 77 k10 suburban. It had a 400 sbc that had broken started mounting holes. The motor mounts on to my turbo 350. I purchased a 350 out of a 79 k10 that was mounted to a 4 speed standard. When I went to mount the new motor it would sit on the motor mounts okay, but left a 1- 2 inch gap between the block and tranny. I'm looking for any answers. Everyone says it should match the same because the blocks are the same dimensions. This is my first motor swap and I'm fairly new to the game. Any help would be more than terrific.
Tan your hide

74propu

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
austin
Truck Year
1974 1980 1986
Truck Model
c10s/b c10 s/b c10l/b
Engine Size
5.3 / ?/454 tbi
did you pull the bronze bushing out of the crank shaft ( needed for a standard trans ) if not it is in the center of the crank where the flexplate bolts on and will not let the converter slide in to the crank and will hold every thing apart about a inch . if the bushing is still in it you can use a wood brome handel just cut it off about 8 in long and grind it down to go in the bushing snug about a inch then pack the bushing full of axel grease then put your wood tool in the hole and drive it in with a hammer and the grease well push the bushing out may have to put grease in it a few times good luck

HotRodPC

Administrator
Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
First Name
HotRod
Truck Year
85 K20 LWB
Truck Model
Silverado
Engine Size
454 - Turbo 400 - 3.73
I never realized a pilot bushing would keep a converter snout from fitting into a crank since the pilot bearing is usually deeper into the crank. But worth checking for sure.