link for disc brake conversion

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

spenser21

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
a
Truck Year
Truck Model
Engine Size
so apparently I don't know how to use the search button anymore... does anyone have a link to help me get my 74 k10 drums to disc, but on a budget? are the jegs or summit kits worth it? also im new to all of this and have no idea whats back there. the shoes just suck to do, and I also want something with a little better power for bigger tires. any suggestions help

Last edited:

Frankenchevy

Proverbs 16:18
Reaction score
First Name
Jeremy
Truck Year
Square
Truck Model
CUCV
Engine Size
Small
this was discussed quite thoroughly just recently but allow me to recap.

you need to change most of your brake system to do it correctly. if your truck has vacuum assisted brakes this especially applies to you. you'll need:

caliper brackets, calipers, brake pads, rotors, flex lines, e-brake linkage, new proportioning valve, new master cylinder and possibly some new hard lines. many have switched everything an still had a soft feeling pedal.

I have hydro boost and my setup was working mint, but I did some research and found that the residual valve in the proportioning valve leaves about 10psi of pressure on the rear circuit for the rear shoes. this is a problem with calipers. you don't want them constantly hanging on. so I got a new prop valve. I highly recommend looking into hydro boost if you are going through all this trouble. my pedal feels just as solid as when I had drums.

if you don't address anything besides swapping the calipers and rotors on there, your braking performance may actually be worse than with drums due to the calipers not getting adequate pressure from the drum side of the master cylinder.