Np208 Won't Shift Into Neutral Or 4 Low?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

gearheadmike

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Mike
Truck Year
Truck Model
Sierra K2500
Engine Size
I bought my 86 k25 and it won't shift into neutral or 4low I can shift from 2wd to 4high but it won't go any more. I don't want to jam it and f$ck it up as this is my daily driver and I have no garage right now. It shift fine from 2wd-4hi / 4hi-2wd I'm new to t-cases and would hate to have to take and replace this.

JimD-in-AZ

Reaction score
First Name
Jim
Truck Year
Truck Model
K20 Cheyenne 4x4 with A/C
Engine Size
350ci 600cfm EB / 700R4 / NP 208
I bought my 86 k25 and it won't shift into neutral or 4low I can shift from 2wd to 4high but it won't go any more. I don't want to jam it and f$ck it up as this is my daily driver and I have no garage right now. It shift fine from 2wd-4hi / 4hi-2wd I'm new to t-cases and would hate to have to take and replace this.

The basic answer to this problem would be... To shift np208 transfer case to neutral or 4 Low, at full stop with foot on brake and transmission in neutral, grab transfer shift lever and pull back to 2 Hi. When the lever stops in 2 Hi push lever to the right (towards passenger door), when it stops going to the right pull back on the shift lever again.
This should allow you to get to neutral then into 4 low. If this does not work then there is something preventing the linkage from pivoting to the right on the case once your in 4 hi.

Jim

gearheadmike

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Mike
Truck Year
Truck Model
Sierra K2500
Engine Size
My transfer shifts from 2wd to 4hi to neutral to 4low but only go's into 4hi and 2wd

JimD-in-AZ

Reaction score
First Name
Jim
Truck Year
Truck Model
K20 Cheyenne 4x4 with A/C
Engine Size
350ci 600cfm EB / 700R4 / NP 208
Broken fork?