New to the carbureted motor game, need insight

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

BigCountry

Reaction score
First Name
Jarrett
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10 Scottsdale
Engine Size
carbureted Vortec 350
Hey guys, I'm completely new to this forum. This is my first thread and in my driveway is my first Chevrolet. I've owned a '95 Ram 5.9L, a '01 Ranger Edge, a '98 Mustang, and now FINALLY as of 2 days ago I have a 1980 K10 pickup. 4x4 with turbo 350 trans I believe. I'm a dealer tech for Volkswagen and know my way around a wrench.. and a sbc350 is about as basic as it gets.. however my ol junker needs alot of work and I need an inside scoop on where to get the best parts for the best price. So first things first, the motor is a 350, but I was told its not original. And even if it were, it looks like something you'd find in a gas station toilet, leaks and rust everywhere.. and has no power. It'll barely get that behemoth moving down the road. Rings have got to be shot. So was thinking I could buy a short block, find some good heads, good intake and exhaust combo, new ignition, and clean the carburetor... and have something worth turning a head. But I have no idea what to buy in order to be able to keep my power steering and alternator setup, or if I can just change it. Idc about a/c, I'm gonna ditch it. I can drive it as-is while I build a better motor but would prefer to be able to have a motor ready for swap in a few months and my budget is about $3000. So, any insight? Maybe 383?

crazy4offroad

Equal Opportunity Destroyer
Reaction score
First Name
Curt
Truck Year
Truck Model
K-10
Engine Size
350/SM465/NP205