Help with horn button assembly

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

pdmcadams

Reaction score
First Name
Paul
Truck Year
Truck Model
V10
Engine Size
Hello! I need some guidance on the horn button for my 1987 Chevy stepside. I should probably mention that I am a novice at this...

So, this truck was someone's rebuild/restore project that they decided to move on from, and I bought it knowing there was work to be done.

At arrival, the steering wheel and horn button weren't assembled. I believe the parts are mostly all here, but some of them need to be replaced, I think, and I can't find a clear schematic of the order that they are reassembled. Initially, the horn worked when I was messing around with the parts trying to figure this out, but not so at the moment. I have found some tutorials and guidance on checking the electrical connections. I'm just trying to figure out how to put all the pieces together at the moment...

I'm going to try and insert some pictures below to clarify. I may not have the terminology quite correct.

The first pic is the steering wheel and horn components as they are attached. The plastic ring is broken in several places and I suspect should be replaced. In addition to what is pictured, I have a concave metal disc, a metal cup that attaches to the bottom of the steering wheel button that fits into the middle of the wheel, and that steering wheel button.

The second pic is a similar looking horn repair kit -- the metal cup is in the upper left, the concave disc at the upper right.

So, several questions:

1) How do the pieces go together properly? Is the wheel as pictured correct? Does the disc go in next? Facing which direction? And just free floating? Then the black plastic horn button with the cup attached?