78 Chevy K10 AC problem

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

DSS

Reaction score
First Name
Dan
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10
Engine Size
350 V8
My 78 Chevy K10 Pickup has the stock AC which typically works fine- Around this time last year, it abrubtly quit blowing cold air. I went to check it out a few days later and it has cured itself and worked fine... A few days ago, the AC again abruptly quit blowing cold air, but now it hasn't fixed itself- I am by no means an AC expert- Does anyone out there have suggestions on some things I should try to check before I bite the bullet and head to a shop?

Thanks!

chengny

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Jerry
Truck Year
Truck Model
K3500
Engine Size
350/5.7
The best place to start would be the compressor clutch and then work backwards from there.

Set the HVAC controls to MAX AC, open the hood and observe the clutch plate on the front of the compressor. It should be pulled in and spinning right along with the drive pulley. This shows an R4 (pancake) type compressor - you might have an A6 style but the clutch is in the same place.

You must be registered for see images attach

Turn the AC off and on a few times and note whether the clutch plate pulls in and starts spinning when cooling is called for.

This is an A6:

Come back and someone will help you with the next step. Do you have a multimeter?

Last edited:

DSS

Reaction score
First Name
Dan
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10
Engine Size
350 V8
Hi- Thanks for the reply- I checked and it appears to be an A6 type compressor, and no the clutch stays still when the MAX AC is selected. Do not have a multimeter

Thanks

chengny

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Jerry
Truck Year
Truck Model
K3500
Engine Size
350/5.7
That's okay, we can probably figure it out without a meter.