pinion yoke

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Josh577

Reaction score
First Name
josh
Truck Year
Truck Model
k20
Engine Size
I have an 87 gmc k2500 im fixing up with my 17 year old son. we decided we would change the rear diff fluid and the pinion seal because it was leaking. I have no experience at this and i did not do any research first. when we took the nut off and removed the yoke we didn't mark the threads, we didn't know to. we just changed the seal and hammered the yoke nut back down with a Milwaukee impact.
tonight when we test drove it there was a littel smoke coming off the yoke, it seemed to stop by the time we got it back home.
we did discover the rear end is out of square badly also on this trip but. im trying to figure out if we screwed up that yoke from hammering it back on with the impact or if the rear axle being dog leg could have caused the heat in the pinion bearing..: i really dont know

Last edited:

CalSgt

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Casey
Truck Year
Truck Model
Chevy K-10 Custom Deluxe
Engine Size
If you over tightened the pinion nut the preload on the bearings can be too tight.

There is a crush collar on most pinions that allows the nut to be tightened until the bearing preload is at the recommended spec. Most manuals will say the crush sleeve needs to be replaced every time but so long as they are not over torqued will usually be fine.

If you ran the pinion nut down with the UGGA-DUGGA's theres a good chance you cooked the bearings.

ETA: The other method of setting preload uses a non crushing sleeve and shims, once preload is set it can be disassembled and reassembled quickly without worry of over tightening. AFAIK this is usually only done aftermarket on GM axles.

SquareRoot

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Mike
Truck Year
Truck Model
K20
Engine Size