Front seal

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

jlfuksa

Reaction score
First Name
jesse
Truck Year
Truck Model
Engine Size
I think I have small seep in the front of my 350..just going from the blow back of oil and where it has puddled a little bit in the cross frame channel...has anyone replaced this seal without pulling the engine??

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk

gpmorgan

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
greg
Truck Year
Truck Model
Engine Size
Both front and rear seals can be replaced with engine in truck.

jlfuksa

Reaction score
First Name
jesse
Truck Year
Truck Model
Engine Size
Ok that's great news, I'm no mechanic so this may be a dumb question, but do I have to drain the oil before I change it out

gpmorgan

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
greg
Truck Year
Truck Model
Engine Size
This will be a pretty tough job if you have no mechanical experience.

Honky Kong jr

Super Sarcastic Man
Reaction score
First Name
J-me
Truck Year
Truck Model
V10
Engine Size
Lil BB 407
DO NOT HAMMER the balancer back on. Spend the few dollars and get the installation tool or rent from a parts store. And be careful poking around the crank snout, you don't want to damage the surface and end up with a worse leak then you got now. Also check your crank case breather system for proper operation defective PCV can wreak havoc on seals.

jlfuksa

Reaction score
First Name
jesse
Truck Year
Truck Model
Engine Size
It's been 10+ years since I've owned a carburated vehicle, insert another dumb question.. I've never had a breather cap, just always been standard oil cap on cover....is there any advantage to the breather? This 350 is no hotrod, if I get seal changed, pcv valve replaced, would it be better to just go back with standard cap n ditch the breather?

MikeB

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Mike