Park/side marker lamp problem

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Rockstomp

Reaction score
First Name
Rocky
Truck Year
Truck Model
R10
Engine Size
350 TBI
Howdy folks! You might guess that I am a rank amateur at the electrical stuff, sooooo, I'm going to swallow my pride and ask for help. I have head lights, but no tail lights. I have signal indicators and dash indicator lights, but no instrument lamps. My park/side marker lamps won't come on, either. I changed the switch and no luck. I've watched one video after another on how to find a short, but that does me no good. I need real help. How do I figure out what's happening? HELP!!! I have a multimeter and a test light. Fire away, I'm all ears.

Don5

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Don
Truck Year
Truck Model
k15
Engine Size
You need help from @chengny . He is the man when it comes to chasing wiring bugs. It does sound like a ground problem to me- especially the rear lights and park lights. You did check the fuses right?

chengny

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Jerry
Truck Year
Truck Model
K3500
Engine Size
350/5.7
I have head lights, but no tail lights.

Brake lights? The above makes sense because (even though the power to each circuit passes through the headlight switch) the H/L circuit is segregated from the parking lamp circuit. The H/L's are protected by a fusible link on the firewall. The tail lights/front parking (and front side markers)/courtesy lighting are protected by a fuse in the main fuse block (TL/CTSY).

Here, let's do it this way:

Check for voltage at the fuse socket labeled INST LPS (top fuse, 2nd column from right). The line side should be the left clip - but check both sides.

If you have no voltage there, read this: