Newb from OKC

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

sandrock

Reaction score
First Name
Bradley
Truck Year
Truck Model
2500 Suburban
Engine Size
Greetings y'all...

I'm not new to wrenching at all, nor I am I new to PCM swaps (I currently have a 1997 Bonneville SSE with a swapped 3800 Series III/2006 Grand Prix 4T65e w/HD 3.29 and a 2005 Impala PCM running the show), but I am new to GM trucks.

Anyways, I got a 1990 'burb 2500 that *somehow* left the factory with a 350 and TH400. Amazingly, it lasted 206k until a blown headgasket done the motor in. I bought it about a month ago and has pretty much been the garage queen since.

Plans call for....drum roll please....a built Vortec 350 that will be run by the infamous "0411" PCM flashed with the 2002 Express van OS. Short block is almost done....30-over 1997 block, new stock cam, factory roller lifters were fully dissassembled and cleaned, crank was in excellent shape so it just got the polish treatment. Waiting on the new pistons and rods to get to me, then after that I get to try to find an uncracked set of heads.

I'm keeping the TH400 as it seems to have been rebuilt sometime in the trucks life, so the PCM will have to be dumbed down in that regard.

I've got so much to do with this beast...I need a new front clip, new front hubs, all the interior (it had a smell that fit between an animal shelter and a freshly-vacated crackheads apartment, so most of it found its way to the local landfill), and of course the gauges need to be updated (though I will also be running a Scangage II).

Pics of what I have so far...will be in the ride forum. Once I get there that is.

Anyways, I hope to learn a lot from youz guyz.

Brad.

89Suburban

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
First Name
Paw Paw
Truck Year
Truck Model
Chevrolet Tahoe LT
Engine Size
5.3, 4WD