New Feller

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Heavy Duty

Reaction score
First Name
Ryan
Truck Year
Truck Model
K25
Engine Size
Hello, I just bought my first squarebody. Its a 1976 GMC K25 High Sierra with a 400sbc and a th350, 91,000 miles which I believe to be the original miles. The first two owners were hobby farmers so it has stayed in good condition. Everything works except the AM radio and hazards. I am new to this era of vehicles and carburetors in general, so I am sure many of my questions will seem stupid. I do have a two questions at the moment, Firstly I was told by my mechanic after I bought the truck that when you start driving these trucks around that their motors will blow, is that true? And if not how reliable is a stock 400sbc? Secondly my trucks bed has the fuel doors, were those available in 1976?

You must be registered for see images attach

RustyPile

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Nick
Truck Year
1983 GMC
Truck Model
Engine Size
350 SBC
Nice old truck..Welcome to our zoo..

Did "your mechanic" elaborate as to why the engine will blow?? Did he find some problem areas?? Was he trying to sell you another engine?? 91K is a lot of miles, but depending on how the miles were applied and the care given the truck, that's certainly no reason for the engine to give up.. Probably, he was just cautioning you against hauling ass off road with a 40 year old vehicle without doing some preparatory work first. That would apply to the whole truck, not just the engine..

Starting in 1973, GM removed the gas tank from behind the seat and mounted it to the frame and placed access doors on the bed sides.

Heavy Duty

Reaction score
First Name
Ryan
Truck Year
Truck Model
K25
Engine Size