Engine wont shut off and random battery drain. Help!

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

grampsbutler

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Graham
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10 Suburban
Engine Size
6.2l Diesel
I am new to Chevys, and have an issue which has me stumped.

I have a 84 Suburban K10 with 6.2L diesel V8. I have owned it for about 3 years, when I first bought it I had a charging problem, so I replaced the alternator and batteries. That fixed the charging issue, but now I have an electrical problem that is getting worse.

Symptoms: 1: The battery is going flat while driving....sometimes very quickly (after a 20 minute drive) I wont be able to restart. I will put it on a charger and batteries hold charge, but will will go flat while driving. I put a volt meter on the battery terminals and I am getting 13.4v running, which indicates that the alternator is charging. 2: The engine wont won't shut off with the ignition key. The dash lights go off, but the engine shutoff solenoid remains energized. I can usually get it to shut down by shifting into gear and then trying again several times.

I suspect the ignition switch is causing the shut off issue, The battery drain issue has me stumped. I have checked the harness for obvious shorts and or burned wires, and cant find anything.

Any suggestions what could be causing this would be greatly appreciated.

SirRobyn0

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Rob
Truck Year
Truck Model
C20
Engine Size
I can't help you with diesel specifics, but I maybe able to give you some thoughts on the electrical stuff.