TBI engine for 1977 truck

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Ron T

Reaction score
First Name
Ron
Truck Year
Truck Model
scottsdale
Engine Size
Looking for information on best route to go with my project. I have a 1977 Scottsdale. Half ton short bed 4x4. It is a rolling chassis that had a 350 with a manual transmission in it. The engine was removed long ago but bought the truck to one day rebuild. My 12 year old son has decided it is what he wants to have. So the first goal is to just get it up and operational. I am looking for the best way to do this with what I have available right now. Right now I have a 1995 2500 4x4 with a 305 and automatic transmission. The other parts I have in the barn are the 1977 transfer case and a 350 transmission. I am a pretty decent mechanic as it goes but lack in the conversion knowledge. This is where I am looking for advice. What is the best conversion to do to just get to reliable right now. Can I take the entire drive train out of the 95 and drop it into the 77? (eng., trans, and transfer case) Should I just use the 305, dump the TBI setup and use the 350 trans and original transfer case? Your thoughts and knowledge are appreciated.

bucket

Super Moderator
Staff member
Super Moderator
Reaction score
First Name
Andy
Truck Year
'77, '78, '79, '84, '88
Truck Model
K5 thru K30
Engine Size
350-454
What kind of budget do you have? What is the transfer case and is it what came behind the th350? Those items often don't mix and match well.

My experience with all my TBI setups is good, they have all been dead reliable.

Ron T

Reaction score
First Name
Ron
Truck Year
Truck Model
scottsdale
Engine Size