Please help!!! Clutch/Tranny Issues

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Philipf9

Reaction score
First Name
Philip
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10
Engine Size
Hello all. I have a Sm465, NP 205 into a 350.
I replaced clutch, flywheel, throw out bearing and put back together. Now, I bled the hydrolic system and no air. There are 2 issues
1. There seems no resistance on pedal when I push in. Why?
2. I put gear shift back in and it's stuck in neutral. Gear shift will not move. Even with bad clutch I should find a gear. I can't.

I'm a newbie and did have a knowledgeable mechanic change clutch and everything at my house. But for these 2 new issues... I have no clue. Any ideas??

Please Please help

Cuba

Likes to work alone in her woman cave
Reaction score
First Name
Cuba
Truck Year
Truck Model
S10 Blazer
Engine Size
4.3ltr TBI
The only thing I can think is that the trans wasn't aligned properly? That's a bit weird now it won't go into gear even if vehicle is off. Did your installer test things out before leaving? Technically it's on them. ...

Philipf9

Reaction score
First Name
Philip
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10
Engine Size
No, he didn't test anything. Really it's on me cause it was a friend doing it, who is also a mechanic, for free. Just won't go into any gear and clutch pedal can be pushed in with about quarter pound of pressure

Oldrider

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Jerry
Truck Year
Truck Model
k2500
Engine Size
Welcome to GM's wonderful hydraulic clutch. You will need someone to verify how much travel you have at the slave cylinder when the pedal is pushed.
I have found that the hydraulic clutch is difficult to bleed. If bled correctly, you will feel some resistance.