New member intro and questions

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

mrgoodwrench

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
mike
Truck Year
Truck Model
silverado
Engine Size
Hi im new here been a lurker here for a long time drooling over all of you guys sweet rigs and dreaming of building my own for quit some time. I am auto mechanic by trade but completely new to the 4x4 world and preety dumb when it comes to this stuff. I just purchased my build rig a 1990 gmc suburban. My goal is to build it into a capable family hauling off road,camping,ext. I want to keep it streatable because i want to drive it to and from the trail. Its being built to take my family off road and camping and check out national parks and trails ect... so here it is.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G930A using Tapatalk

Last edited:

mrgoodwrench

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
mike
Truck Year
Truck Model
silverado
Engine Size
So it came with 14b ff rear with 4.11 and detroit locker. Dana 60 front open diff with with 4.11 gears. Crossover high mount steering with howe ram assist steering. Gm rebuilt 700r4 with 100 miles on it. 37in mc thompson tires. 6in bds lift with blocks in rear and just leafs lift in front. Has what appears to be origional tbi 350 with 258k miles but runs pretty well. Its realitivly rust free which is nice it is going to need a bunch of misclanious work ect... so my question i hear lifts using blocks are no good so i would like to fix that. What would you reccamend for off road capable but still streatable. I was thinking about pulling the blocks from the rear and going with ORD rear shackel flip? Would this keep the vehicle level? Would i be able still clear the 37s without trimming. I could use any advise you can give i know there are much more knowladgeable people then me here so help me out thanks mike

mrgoodwrench