Looking for an Engine!

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

87Hi-v15HND

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Daniel
Truck Year
Truck Model
v1500
Engine Size
Hello everyone,

this is my first "conversation" as i am a new member to this forum. I am looking into purchasing a new engine for my 87 GMC and im not too sure of a reputable manufacturer or retailer. over the weekend i tore down my 305 and found the #1 rod bearing is shot and versus the repair cost/rebuild for a 305; i am resorting to an upgrade and would like to replace with a remanufactured or crate 350 depending on cost. I am no mechanic but i am trying to teach myself the ins and outs because i really appreciate these square body chevys and want to get mine back on the road ASAP. If anyone could point me in the right direction it would be greatly appreciated thanks!

animal

Super Moderator
Staff member
Super Moderator
Reaction score
First Name
Lee
Truck Year
Truck Model
c10 silverado
Engine Size
350ish
The GM Goodwrench 350 crate motors from a dealer run around $1500 and are a good reliable motor for a "stock" replacement. Other wise I would guess that jegs or some other source like that would be ok.

hiltijoe

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
joe
Truck Year
Truck Model
custom delux
Engine Size
Hello everyone,