Idle Mixture Screws Do Not Adjust Anything on 1974 454.

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Joe Baring

Reaction score
First Name
Joe
Truck Year
Truck Model
c20
Engine Size
Hello Everyone first post here! I bought a rough, but not rotten 1984 C20 Squarebody! I bought it thinking that it was a 350 small block, but it turned out to be a 305 ): I wanted a bit more get up and go than what it had so I bought a 1974 454 Big Block for it. Once installed in the truck I bought a brand new Ebay Quadrajet measuring 750CFM. (Bare with me! I am still learning about Quadrajets and carbs in genral.) The internet thought 750 CFM was fine for this engine so on it went. Immediately after starting it would not idle without some choke and even with choke it would run stumbly. As soon as you open the choke it would die. After some looking and researching I adjusted the timing and idle mixture screws. Timing went fine and I set it to 12 Degrees with Vacuum advance disconnected. One thing I noticed is that it ran better the more timing I gave it past 12. I tried to adjust the mixture screws, but nothing was happening when I would turn them. Vacuum, engine speed and quality would stay the same. I consistently have 15-17 on the vacuum gauge no matter what I do with the screws. After some playing and some substantial run time I was able to get it to idle without choke. It spits and sputters like its really lean. I assume lean because it gets substantially better and idles much higher when the choke is partially closed. I have not found any vacuum leaks, but I would assume that the leak would have to be very drastic to cause this type of problem. In higher RPMS it runs good! Sidenote that big block is a force to be reckoned with! Nearly broke the tires loose in a hard shift to 2nd...and its stock! I am all out of ideas the carb is brand new, but who knows wh