How to Weld

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Derrick

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Derrick
Truck Year
Truck Model
Engine Size
I figured for my 100th post I would do something to benefit everyone so here it goes. How to weld now i am not a professional but i have been welding for 5 years now (2 for a company the rest just for "fun")
First things first wear gloves, welding helmet, safety glasses, jeans/ non-meltable pants make sure they over your waist down and wear long sleeves if not preferably a welding jacket. Now that that is over "welding is dangerous do it at your own risk" First things first there are 3 main types of welding you will do they are stick/smaw,mig/Gmaw,Tig/Gtaw. Now you may wonder what is the best for me. Well it depends I started with stick welding and now I could pass a 6g weld test with it (6g=pipe line welding)
Mig is best for a homeowner that only needs to weld once in a great while. Tig is best left to some one with way to much time on their hands it is the hardest to learn. now here is a youtube channel that wll teach you how to weld i will look at the comments and if there is something that this guys does not bring up ask it down below and i will answer asap. https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCJAFY2kKKb5sg79yld7T3hA

smoothandlow84

I'd rather be draggin' frame
Reaction score
First Name
Steve
Truck Year
1984 Frame...87 motor and 700r trans
Truck Model
1500 r10 pavement scraper
Engine Size
350 TBI
QUOTE="Honky Kong jr, post: 398247, member: 11002"]I wanna learn......[/QUOTE]

Start with a mig wire feed. Easy to learn and welding comes in handy for all sorts of projects. Learning how to weld over 25 years ago (started with torch welding in the natural gas industry) was by far the most valuable lesson. I currently weld, stick, torch , mig and tig. Mig welding is my favorite.

shiftpro