Gas Grade Opinion Help....

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

CaliDude76

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Sal
Truck Year
Nineteen Eighty Four
Truck Model
C-Ten (Custom Deluxe)
Engine Size
Three Fifty
Hey Fellas, need your input on this one.. I trust and respect all your knowledge and info....

Seeings that I'm a college student on a serious budget.. I tend to run 87 Octane fuel in my square. Now lately it's been intermittently idling real rough.. chased all the vacuum lines I could.. adjusted timing... idle speed screw.. everything but the air/fuel mixture screws at the base... I don't like messing with those to much... not sure what the right combo for those are.

I'm running a stock q-jet m4me connected to a ecu brain in the dash...

every so often I buy a STP fuel system treatment.... but rarely run 89-92 octane... (a bit costly for me..), and is there something better I could use?
I just bought some LUCAS fuel system stuff, that the parts store guy recommended.. so I'll give that a few days.

In your alls opinion.. should I run a tank or two of the good Chevron (92) stuff, to boost the steadiness and performance in the carb... or does that make a difference... and am I looking at a carb re-build?.. because I know it use to idle real nice... and purdy like... can't seem to shake what the problem is.

Here's a pix of my carb....in all her vacuum glory! LOL

What exactly is the screw adjustment right ot the top facing up in front of my primary ports?

A BIG THANKS IN ADVANCE FELLAS!!!!!!

-CALIDUDE

Attachments

• carb 1.jpg
    carb 1.jpg
    93.2 KB · Views: 181
  • Carb 2.jpg
    Carb 2.jpg
    92.9 KB · Views: 169
  • Carb 3.jpg
    Carb 3.jpg
    94.8 KB · Views: 173
  • Carb 4.jpg
    Carb 4.jpg
    92.2 KB · Views: 162
Last edited:

89Suburban

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
First Name