LB7 Swap

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

jstolk2

Reaction score
First Name
Justin
Truck Year
Truck Model
K20
Engine Size
I apologize ahead of time for anything dumb I might say or do. I'm a complete noob. With that said:
Its time to resurrect my 1983 K20. It was my first truck. Bought it when I was 15(I'm now 30). I've already got all new body panels for it. I was just going to freshen up the 355 that's in it and call it good. But the other day a friend of mine made me an offer I couldn't refuse. He sold me his wrecked (cab damage) 2003 2500HD Duramax ECSB. Truck has just over 100k miles. And the Allison only has 5k miles on the rebuild. So now I'm quickly developing a new plan! I've seen amazing LB7 swaps online and on this site. I doubt my project will ever hold a candle to the ones I've seen on here. But I ultimately just want it to be reliable, and just a decent looking usable truck. Initial plan is use the LB7, Allison, Tcase, and rearend from the 03, and get a Ford axle to run up front. I'm obviously just starting the planning stages and I'm trying to gather all the information I can. My initial thoughts are to take my K20 down to the frame, blast it, and box in the whole frame so that I can actually utilize all the pulling power the LB7 has to offer. Would this be a good first step?
Any wisdom, thoughts, or foresight would be greatly appreciated.

marks86

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Mark
Truck Year
Truck Model
K30
Engine Size
12v Cummins
First off it might be easier to run a np205 out of a k30 then it would to install a drivers side drop axle and hook up an 03 transfercase.

So that being said Id put a k30 drivetrain in the truck as a starting point. When the frame is all ready to go, your going to have to research a few main things.