73 K10 w/350 has some weekend issues

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

bdouble

Reaction score
First Name
Bill
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10
Engine Size
Ok, ok...where to start...

So I finally got under the hood of my new 73 K10 after a week of listening to some weird whistling/squealing that only happens when coasting or at low rpm. I also noticed a vacuum noise from somewhere in the back right of the engine bay. I'm new to this, so the more detailed the explanation/instructions you guys have, the better off I'll be - I appreciate the help.

So I started pulling some of the vacuum lines to see what's up with the whistling and found some of them have stoppers inside. Why would this be the case?
I haven't checked all of them yet...still tracing the lines but, the T that joins the lower part of the carb, the right valve cover, and the charcoal box is blocked off at the end of the line just before the charcoal box.
Meanwhile another separate smaller vacuum line from the charcoal box to the upper portion of the carb is clear. I don't get it.

Also, I don't know what model Q-jet this is (see pic). When I search the engraved number (17054927), it doesn't return any results on any of the databases.
I have a edelbrock 2101 intake ready to install but I'm since I don't know anything about this carb, I don't want to screw things up (aside from the whistle and vacuum noise, the truck runs very well).