6.2l Diesel trouble starting

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

andreasballs

Reaction score
First Name
Andreas
Truck Year
Truck Model
Suburban c2500
Engine Size
6.2 Diesel
Hey guys, this is my first time posting here. A few months ago I picked up a 1987 GMC suburban diesel. 188k miles on everything, mechanically its in decent shape. However, the dash gauges are a little finicky - and as a result I accidentally ran the engine out of fuel last week. I filled her up with half tank of diesel and cranked the engine a few times. It would start, run for a second or two, and then stall again, as is expected with the air in the lines. After doing this a few times it finally started working again. I drove it around town with no problems. I thought this would have been the end of my problems.

However, the two times I've tried driving it since, I've been having alot of trouble starting it fresh. It will crank and start like it used to, run for a second or two, and then stall. When I try to start a second time it will crank for a while, and even with my foot on the gas it wont start. Usually takes me about 5 tries to get it going. Once I've gotten it going, it will run with out any problems. I've even parked it for a few hours, and started it up flawlessly again. However, if I let it sit for more than a day or two, I'll experience the same starting problems.

Any ideas what could be causing this? I would normally think it would be a leak in the fuel line, but since this started happening right after I ran out of fuel, I was wondering if it could be something else.

Thanks guys.

89Suburban

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
First Name
Paw Paw
Truck Year
Truck Model
Chevrolet Tahoe LT
Engine Size
5.3, 4WD
andreasballs lol

marks86

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Mark
Truck Year
Truck Model
K30
Engine Size