Timing and Dieseling

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

maxtwms

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Max
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10
Engine Size
Alright I'm pretty new to this and this might be my first post so here goes the issue. I have an 85 K10 with what I'm told was a "rebuilt" 305 (no clue why). It has a Holley 4175 650 cfm and 4 spd manual trans if that matters.. I went to set timing, idle and mixture so here was my approach. I left brake booster, pcv, and choke hooked up to manifold vacuum. Distributor advance port is open (don't think that matters). Teed the choke line to a vacuum gauge. Started the truck and went to establish initial timing to (assumed because idk if the harmonica balancer can be installed at wrong angle) 12deg advance. Couldn't get idle down and found choke was stuck. Flipped choke arm down between electrical unit on the side of carb and the carb body. Had better idle at this point. Found 12deg mech advance while feathering the curb idle and mixture screws. Now I moved curb idle to get 750 rpm and turned mixture screws in and out at same distance to find max vacuum. I felt like I noticed a thin white fog of smoke but I didn't smell gas and the idle seemed to be fine. All the number I thought to be correct had been met. Vacuum gauge was vibrating around 10in. Not great but best I could get. I got in the truck and could hardly get it to move. Almost like I had a vacuum leak. I manipulated hoses but no change. I finally got it back in the parking spot and cut it off when it dieseled for.like 15 seconds... I stepped back waiting for a disaster. This was the worst it's ever run on. I was trying to get a sewing machine. Wth is happening! What did I miss? Am I supposed to hook the vacuum advance distributor back up somewhere in between the process. Sorry for the rant but I'm getting worn down here. Tha